New ETIAS travel form required for Singaporeans and Malaysians

New requirements for Singaporean and Malaysian travelers: Starting next year, nationals will be required to obtain an online document, ETIAS, before visiting the European Union or Schengen countries. (Photo: Getty Images)

SINGAPORE — From next year, citizens of Singapore and Malaysia will be required to obtain an online document called ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) before traveling to the European Union (EU) or Schengen member states.

by ETIAS official website, This authorization is tied to the traveler’s passport and is valid for three years or until the passport’s expiration date.

ETIAS serves as a record of who enters and exits the Schengen Area. According to its website, this is not a visa requirement and does not guarantee entry on arrival. Border agents will continue to check passports and other documents to ensure travelers meet entry requirements.

The Schengen Area is a region of 27 European countries that has officially abolished all passport and all other types of border controls at their mutual borders.

ETIAS allows Malaysians and Singaporeans to stay in Europe for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

How to apply for ETIAS and how much does it cost?

Apply, singaporean and Malaysian Applicants between the ages of 18 and 70 must Complete the online application Pay a processing fee of 7 euros (RM36, S$10). The entire process is done online, so no appointment or visit to the embassy is required.

Minors and applicants over 70 years of age receive ETIAS free of charge. The EU aims to process most applications within minutes, but some decisions can take up to four days.

The EU member states that will require an ETIAS travel authorization next year are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

Background of the establishment of ETIAS

The ETIAS proposal was finalized in November 2016 with the aim of improving safety in the Schengen Area. Visa-free travelers are required to obtain a travel authorization and undergo various security checks before arriving in the EU.

The system will screen travelers before they arrive in Europe and prevent individuals who pose a security threat from entering the EU, thereby reducing the likelihood of security incidents involving EU nationals.

Malaysia and Singapore are among 63 countries that offer visa-free entry to most European countries.

Do you have any story tips? Email:

You can also follow Facebook, Instagram, tick tock and twitter.Also check out Southeast Asia, foodand game YouTube channel.

Yahoo Singapore TelegramYahoo Singapore Telegram

Yahoo Singapore Telegram

Related Article


Leave a Comment