India defeats Malaysia 4-3 to win Asia Champions Trophy 2023 final

The Indian hockey team defeated Malaysia 4-3 in the Asia Champions Trophy 2023 final held at Mayer Radhakrishnan Stadium in Chennai on Saturday (August 12) to win the championship for the fourth time.

India have won the Asia Champions Trophy title four times and are the most successful team in the history of the tournament. Pakistan, which has won three titles, is currently in second place.

Before that, India’s Gurjanth scored the equalizer to make it 3-3 in a thrilling match against Malaysia.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday praised the Indian men’s hockey team’s stunning victory in the Asian Championship.

Prime Minister Modi said, “Congratulations to the men’s hockey team for their stunning victory in the Asian Championships! This is India’s fourth victory and it is a testament to the tireless dedication, hard training and unyielding determination of our players. It shows,” he posted on X.

He added, “Their extraordinary performance has inspired immense pride across the United States. We wish the players all the best in their future endeavors.”

Jugraj Singh scored in the first quarter to give India an early lead, but Malaysia’s Kamal Abu Alzai scored the equalizing goal to make it 1-1.

In the second quarter, Malaysia’s Razieh Rahim converted a penalty corner to make it 2-1, and towards the end of the second quarter, Aminuddin Muhammad converted a penalty corner to make it 3-1.

This was followed by India’s Harmanpreet Singh scoring a penalty stroke to make it 2-3 in the third quarter before Gurjanth scored the equalizer.

With the scores tied, Akashdeep scored the winning goal late on, helping India win a record fourth Asia Champions Trophy title.

With input from the agency.

Unlock a world of benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time inventory tracking, breaking news and personalized newsfeeds, it’s all here, just a click away. Log in here!

Related Article


Leave a Comment