Soccer-Jordan and Iraq claim opening match wins at the Asian Cup as Malaysia and Indonesia lose

Doha: Both West Asian teams joined forces in their respective group openers on Monday, with Jordan defeating Malaysia 4-0 and Iraq defeating Indonesia 3-1 in the Asia Cup on Monday.

With four goals in each match, Jordan’s big win lifted them to the top of Group E. They surpassed South Korea, who defeated Bahrain 3-1 earlier on Monday.

Jordan’s Mahmoud Al Mardi put his hand up for an early goal in the competition when the winger flew over the goalkeeper from outside the box and fired into the top corner of the far post to give his team the lead.

Musa Al Ta’amari doubled their lead from the spot after a VAR review awarded a penalty for a foul on Yazan Al Naimat, and Al Mardi scored his second goal from a tap-in after the set-up to make it 3. -0. Written by Yazan Al Naimat.

Story continues below ad

Al Ta’amari scored their second goal in the 85th minute with a lob at the keeper, sealing the defeat.

Like Malaysia, Indonesia is also returning to the Asia Cup for the first time since 2007, and although the Southeast Asian side was able to hang on for 45 minutes against Iraq, they ran out of gas in the second half.

Iraq’s Mohanad Ali beat the keeper to score the first goal, but Marcelino Ferdinan equalized after some fine work from Jacob Sayuri. Sayuri evaded the challenge and crossed the ball into the six-yard box for an easy goal.

However, Iraq broke Indonesia’s bubble late in stoppage time just before the interval, with Osama Rashid scoring from close range after the keeper spilled a save.

Substitute Aymen Hussain then scored a header in the 75th minute and then volleyed home from the edge of the six-yard box to make it 3-1.

Iraq is second in Group D behind four-time champions Japan, who defeated Vietnam 4-2 on Sunday.

top videos

  • David Warner enters Sydney Cricket Ground in chopper for big Bash League game

  • IND vs SA, 2nd Test: ICC rates Newlands pitch unsatisfactory

  • Mohammad Shami talks about winning Arjuna Award | Cricket News | Cricket Next

  • Delhi sack Yash Duhar as captain, appoint Himmat Singh after defeat against Pondicherry

  • Mohammed Shami receives Arjuna Award from President Drupadi Murmu | World Cup 2023 | Cricket News

  • (This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed – Reuters)

    sports deskOur team of reporters, writers and editors brings you the latest information, breaking news, updates and more…Read More

    First published: January 16, 2024, 02:00 IST

    « previous

    Heisman Trophy winner Caleb Williams officially leaves University of Southern California and enters NFL Draft as No. 1 pick

    Next »

    Ezquerra scored 16 points, Wagner defeated Stonehill 64-54.

    Join News18 Whatsapp Channel

    Related Article


    Leave a Comment