Competition among teams intensifies with 13 remaining seats

The first Club World Cup under the new format will be hosted by the United States in 2025, with 19 of the 32 clubs taking part, but competition for the remaining 13 seats remains intense.

Oceania is the only continental confederation with no more seats left, but there are vacant seats on the continents of Europe, Asia, South America, North and Central America, the Caribbean (CONCACAF) and Africa.

european clubs

Italy’s Napoli and Lazio are still among the clubs competing in the Champions League, with each club qualifying for the Club World Cup by winning Europe’s richest competition or passing through the standings. can be secured.

Inter Milan secured their seat through the classification process, but the competition for the second remaining seat remains between Juventus, Napoli and Lazio.

As for Spanish clubs, Atlético Madrid, Barcelona and Real Sociedad continue to compete to represent Spain in the Club World Cup, joining Real Madrid who will automatically qualify after winning the Champions League in the 2021-2022 season. .

As for German clubs, only two clubs, Borussia Dortmund and Leipzig, aim to join Bayern Munich and have already gone through the classification process to qualify to represent Germany at the Club World Cup.

asia club

As for AFC clubs, they won four seats, with Al Hilal Saudi Arabia and Japan’s Urawa Reds winning the AFC Champions League and qualifying for the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 seasons respectively.

Two vacant spots will be given to this season’s AFC Champions League winners, while the other spot will be decided through a classification process that will see South Korea’s Jeonbuk Motors, compatriots Ulsan and Saudi Arabia’s Al Nasr qualify. .

african club

On the African continent, four clubs will participate in the tournament: Egypt’s Al Ahly Club and Morocco’s Ouidad Sports Club, winners of the African Champions League in the 2020-2021 and 2022-2023 seasons. The champions of the 2021-2022 edition have each earned a spot.

The third seat will be given to the champion of the current competition, while the fourth ticket will be allocated to the highest ranked club at African level.

It is worth noting that only two teams, South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns and Tunisia’s Esperance, will be able to go through the classification route.

Clubs of North, Central America, and the Caribbean

The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Football (CONCACAF) was allotted four seats in addition to an additional card for the host American club.

Mexico’s Monterrey Club, America’s Seattle Sounders and Mexico’s Club León won the CONCACAF Champions Cup in 2021, 2022 and 2023 respectively, securing a spot in the World Championship and taking the fourth seat. will be awarded to the champion of the 2024 tournament. It’s still in the first round.

south american club

Six clubs will represent South America at the World Cup, three of which will be the Brazilian clubs that have won the last three Libertadores tournaments: Palmeiras (2021), Flamengo (2022) and Fluminense (2023). ). The fourth seat will be allocated to the 2024 edition champion, which is still in the qualifying stage.

The remaining two seats will be determined through a classification process. According to the current rankings, Boca Juniors, River Plate (Argentina) and Olimpia (Paraguay) are the most likely to qualify.

Related Article


Leave a Comment