Former PSB representative to join government bloc

Kuching: Three former Sarawak Party (PSB) MPs will join the Sarawak Legislative Assembly (DUN) government bloc from May 6 to 15 after joining the Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

Explaining the issue, DUN Chairman Tan Sri Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nassar was joined by three honorable members (Bawang Assan State Assembly Member Datuk Seri Wong Soon Ko; Mr. Jonical Rayong Ngipa, a member of parliament, and Mr. Baru Bian, a member of the Bakalan provincial assembly, were elected during the provincial assembly, he said. The election will be held on December 18, 2021.

He pointed out that the anti-hopping law was introduced on November 11, 2022, enforced by former Head of State Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmoud, and published in the Official Gazette on July 27, 2023.

“The (anti-hopping) law did not apply to them because the elections were held in 2021 and the law did not come into force until 2023.

“So in their case, the law was irrelevant and not unequal because the candidate won and was elected in 2021, before the law took effect. ,” he said at a press conference after the pre-council meeting of the DUN-aligned Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu Party (PBB) held at the PBB headquarters here today.

Citing the Second Amendment to Section 16B(2)(a) of the Sarawak Constitution Ordinance 2022, he said: or cancel the registration of a political party. Therefore, elected members do not cease to be members even if their party is dissolved or canceled. ”

He also cited Standing Order 2, stating that it is at the discretion of the DUN Chairperson to decide on the location of seating arrangements and therefore his decision is final.

“Therefore, three former PSB members who are now members of the PDP will be moved from the opposition bloc to the government bloc and will sit to the left of the speaker,” he said.

For the record, all PSB members were collectively accepted as members of the PDP after PSB received the dissolution letter from the Registrar of Societies (RoS) on March 19.

With the addition of three PSB members to the PDP, Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) now holds 79 of DUN’s 82 seats.

Related Article


Leave a Comment