What is behind the creation of the Sahel Alliance?

Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso have left ECOWAS to form their own bloc.

Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger formed the Sahel Alliance, a coalition of countries ruled by military juntas that led to their split from the larger West African regional bloc, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The three military leaders pledged to support each other against external threats and internal security challenges.

But can they succeed on their own, or will a fragmented Sahel make tackling the region’s challenges even harder?


Mohammed Jamjum


Erwan de Cherissay – African military expert who served in military operations in Cameroon, Nigeria and The Gambia

Ahmedou Ould Abdallah – Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mauritania and Director of the Sahel-Saharan Centre for Strategic and Security Studies

Alqasim Abdulrahmane – Permanent Secretary of the International Sahel Solidarity Forum, humanitarian and development expert in the Sahel region


Leave a Comment